Authentic Catalan village, Laroque-des-Albères is nestled in lush greenery on the foothills of the Pyrenees. Here, the altitudes go from a few tens of meters to more than 1256 m, at Pic Néoulous, the highest peak in the Albères.  

Laroque, between history and nature…

To soak up the atmosphere of this charming village full of history, close to Spain, you have to cross its narrow streets. These, lined with pretty colored facades, go up to the church and the belvedere of the castle with its magnificent panorama. The latter offers 2 orientation tables: one on the Albères massif (Pyrenees), the other on the Roussillon plain and the Mediterranean!

Le Moulin de la Pave in Laroque-des-Albères, a former flour mill.

Focus on the Moulin de la Pave

A former flour mill supplied with water by the village canal which operated its horizontal wheel, its origins date back to the 2006th century. An association undertook its restoration in XNUMX. Since then, it has completely reconstructed the miller's workshop on the ground floor as well as his accommodation upstairs.
The impoundment was carried out during the European Mill Days, in May 2022.

Explore the hidden treasures of the Albères…

Our massif is recognized for its tremendous natural resources such as the mineral spring with its ferruginous and sparkling water. Similarly, there are many sites that attest to the life and intense human activities of the past, in the very heart of the Albères:

  • the Mataporc cabins,
  • the “La Balma del Moro” dolmen,
  • iron mines, rock shelters,
  • the irrigation canal,
  • the ice wells

Nature & Hiking in Laroque!

The surroundings of the village offer you an exceptional setting to satisfy your desires for the great outdoors. Thus, with family or friends, in zen or sporty mode, the hiking trails are each an opportunity to live a unique nature experience. Also, push the door of the House of the Rando and ask us for advice on organizing your outing. Fun hikes with games for young and old, digestive walk or even sporty day hikes... Here, you will necessarily find a circuit made for you!

La randonnée au rendez-vous

Hiking at the rendezvous

Here, hiking is the best way to appreciate the environment and the extremely rich heritage of the Albères.

The Laroque-des-Albères rally-rando. A great treasure hunt to enjoy with family or friends!

The Rallye-Rando? Quesaco?

There are so many ways to discover the Pyrenees massif!
Organized and led by our team, the rally-randos are great treasure hunts that bring young and old together. Take advantage of a unique day around challenges and questions, each one more amusing than the other, Ideal for getting attached to the pleasures of hiking!

Prepare well for your hike

Before setting out on a hike, find out about the local weather.
Between June and September, consider consulting the fire risk and the possibilities of circulation in the massif.

The Tower of Manel, famous shepherd of the Albères, at the Pic Néoulous, summit of the Albères.

The highest peak in the Albères

The Pic Néoulous (1256 m) marks the border between France and Spain. On its promontory, one is quickly struck by the contrast between the stone tower built by Manel, which rubs shoulders with the television relay station.
Enjoy the grandiose 360° panoramas over the Roussillon Plain, the Spanish Plain of Ampourdan, the sumptuous Canigou and the Mediterranean Sea! 

Good to know

From the entrance to Perthus, a road takes you to Col de l'Ouillat. It is here that the "Sentier pour tous" allows people with reduced mobility (PRM) to combine walks in the middle of the mountains and discovery of the forest. The setting is astonishing, with its majestic laricio pine forest... Total change of scenery and splendid landscapes guaranteed, in excellent conditions of comfort!

In Laroque, we hike… but not only!

Are you passionate about the little queen? Venture on the "Bouques des Albères" to discover our magnificent landscapes. They are accessible to all and guide you to our heritage sites. The Eurovélo8 cycle route, meanwhile, takes you to Argelès and the sea in complete safety. Our team will inform you about the best access from the village. It will also offer you bike rental for a few hours or for the day. Forward, all in the saddle!

Heart stroke

Go on a bike on the Rallye-Enquête thanks to the application BALUDIK. Che heritage and terroir rally takes you to discover the villages of the Albères and meet the people who live there. Before starting your expedition in complete autonomy, ask for your adventurer's kit at the Laroque-des-Albères Tourist Office!

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Authentique village catalan, Laroque-des-Albères est niché dans un écrin de verdure sur le piémont des Pyrénées. Ici, les altitudes passent de quelques dizaines de mètres jusqu’à plus de 1256 m, au Pic Néoulous, plus haut sommet des Albères.  

Laroque, entre histoire et nature…

Pour s’imprégner de l’ambiance de ce charmant village plein d’histoire, proche de l’Espagne, il faut traverser ses ruelles étroites. Celles-ci, bordées de jolies façades colorées, montent jusqu’à l’église et au Belvédère du château avec son magnifique panorama. Ce dernier offre 2 tables d’orientation : l’une sur le massif des Albères (Pyrénées), l’autre sur la plaine du Roussillon et la Méditerranée !

Le Moulin de la Pave à Laroque-des-Albères, un ancien moulin à farine.

Zoom sur le Moulin de la Pave

Ancien moulin à farine pourvu en eau par le canal du village qui actionnait sa roue horizontale, ses origines remontent au XIVè siècle. Une association a entrepris sa restauration en 2006. Depuis, elle a entièrement reconstitué l‘atelier du meunier au rez-de-chaussée ainsi que son logement à l’étage.
La remise en eau a été effectuée lors des Journées européennes des Moulins, en mai 2022.

Explorer les trésors cachés des Albères…

Notre massif est reconnu pour ses formidables richesses naturelles telles que la source minérale avec son eau ferrugineuse et pétillante. De même, on y trouve beaucoup de sites qui attestent de la vie et des activités humaines intenses d’autrefois, au cœur même des Albères :

  • les Cabanes de Mataporc,
  • le dolmen « La Balma del Moro »,
  • les mines de fer, les abris sous roches,
  • le canal d’irrigation,
  • les puits à glace

Nature & Randonnées à Laroque !

Les environs du village vous offrent un cadre exceptionnel pour satisfaire vos envies de grand air. Ainsi, en famille ou entre amis, en mode zen ou sportif, les chemins de randonnées sont chacun une occasion de vivre une expérience nature unique. Aussi, poussez la porte de la Maison de la Rando et demandez-nous conseil pour organiser votre sortie. Randonnées ludiques avec jeux pour petits et grands, promenade digestive ou encore randonnées sportives à la journée… Ici, vous trouverez forcément un circuit fait pour vous !

La randonnée au rendez-vous

La randonnée au rendez-vous

Ici, la randonnée pédestre est le meilleur moyen d’apprécier l’environnement et le patrimoine extrêmement riche des Albères.

Le rallye-rando de Laroque-des-Albères. Un grand jeu de piste à vivre en famille ou entre amis !

Le Rallye-Rando ? Quesaco ?

Il y a tellement de manières de découvrir le massif des Pyrénées !
Organisés et animés par notre équipe, les rallye-randos sont de grands jeux de piste qui réunissent petits et grands. Profitez d’une journée unique autour d’épreuves et de questions toutes plus amusantes les unes que les autres, Idéal pour s’attacher aux plaisirs de la randonnée !

Bien préparer votre randonnée

Avant de partir en randonnée, informez-vous sur la météo locale.
Entre juin et septembre, pensez à consulter le risque incendie et les possibilités de circulation dans le massif.

La Tour de Manel, célèbre berger des Albères, au Pic Néoulous, sommet des Albères.

Le plus haut sommet des Albères

Le Pic Néoulous (1256 m) marque la frontière entre la France et l’Espagne. Sur son promontoire, on est très vite saisi par le contraste entre la tour de pierre édifiée par Manel, qui côtoie la station de relais télévision.
Profitez des panoramas grandioses à 360° sur la Plaine du Roussillon, la Plaine espagnole d’Ampourdan, le somptueux Canigou et la mer Méditerranée ! 

Bon à savoir

Depuis l’entrée du Perthus, une route vous mène au Col de l’Ouillat. C’est ici que le « Sentier pour tous » permet aux personnes à mobilité réduite (PMR) d’allier promenade en moyenne montagne et découverte de la forêt. Le cadre y est étonnant, avec sa futaie de pins laricio majestueux… Dépaysement total et paysages splendides garantis, dans d’excellentes conditions de confort !

A Laroque, on randonne… mais pas que !

Vous vous passionnez pour la petite reine ? Aventurez-vous sur les « Boucles des Albères » à la découverte de nos magnifiques paysages. Elles sont accessibles à tous et vous guident vers nos sites patrimoniaux. L’itinéraire cyclable Eurovélo8, quant à lui, vous conduit vers Argelès et la mer en toute sécurité. Notre équipe vous renseignera sur les meilleurs accès au départ du village. Elle vous proposera également de la location de vélos pour quelques heures ou à la journée. Endavant, tous en selle !

Coup de cœur

Partez à vélo sur le Rallye-enquête grâce à l’application BALUDIK. Ce rallye patrimoine et terroir vous emmène à la découverte des villages des Albères et à la rencontre des gens qui y vivent. Avant de débuter votre expédition en toute autonomie, demandez votre kit d’aventurier à l’Office de tourisme de Laroque-des-Albères !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu